Monday, September 30, 2013

Aragon MotoGP, Marquez dominant

Marc Marquez has increased his possibilities of becoming a rookie MotoGP™ World Champion by claiming his sixth victory of 2013 in the Gran Premio Iveco de Aragon. Current title holder Jorge Lorenzo was overtaken by the newcomer en route to second place, as Dani Pedrosa crashed out of the race on the sixth lap.

Yamaha Factory Racing’s Lorenzo grabbed the lead at the start, as the Repsol Honda Team riders immediately went to battle at the second corner. The critical moment of the afternoon, and perhaps of the 2013 World Championship, would come on Lap 6. As both Hondas closed in on Lorenzo for the lead, Marquez ran third but appeared to out-brake himself at Turn 12. Moments later, Pedrosa dramatically highsided out of the race and it was later confirmed that the two teammates had made contact, which had caused a rear wheel speed sensor on Pedrosa’s bike to fail, leaving him without traction control. After the race it was confirmed that Race Direction would be reviewing the incident between the Repsol Honda teammates.
That moment allowed Lorenzo to extend his lead to 1.7 seconds, although he was caught by Marquez and overhauled at the same corner eight laps later. The championship lead now increases to 39 points with 100 left on offer. Lorenzo’s teammate Valentino Rossi finished on the podium for the first time since Laguna Seca, fending off GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista, LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl and Monster Yamaha Tech3’s Cal Crutchlow in a highly entertaining four-rider contest. Crutchlow was vocal about a lack of top speed, which he hopes to fix before the next race.

Tech3’s Bradley Smith, Ducati Team duo Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden and Energy T.I. Pramac Racing’s Andrea Iannone completed the top ten, while Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaro was once again the leading CRT runner in 11th spot. In 17th place, Italian Luca Scassa ended his debut with Cardion AB Motoracing ahead of two other CRT machines, covering for Karel Abraham who has been ruled out of action for the rest of the campaign.
A total of five riders failed to finish. Pedrosa retired for the first time this year, while PBM’s Michael Laverty and Came IodaRacing Project’s Danilo Petrucci were put out of action on the opening lap in an incident also involving the aforementioned Scassa. On his return to MotoGP™, Australia’s Damian Cudlin suffered gearbox problems while Avintia Blusens’ Hector Barbera pulled into the pits, having already changed bikes after having to start from pit-lane with bike number two after a camshaft sensor failure on bike one.

MotoGP™ Race Classification
1- Marc Marquez
2- Jorge Lorenzo
3- Valentino Rossi
1st CRT
11- Aleix Espargaro

Source: MotoGP 

No comments:

Post a Comment